PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#1 2015-04-28 17:19:07

DoktorMesmer
Bloody beginner
From: England
Registered: 2011-04-25
Posts: 6

Assigning Potentiometers - how?

How do I move around the parameter for POT 1-X? One of them is set by default to CUTOFF which is what I want. How do I change the other one to RES as against TUNING which it defaults to? I have read the manual but it says "The first pot, POT 1-X can be moved around to edit any parameter. The three other pots are fixed" and doesn't go on to tell me how to move it around. I'm probably missing something obvious, but the manual is missing something obvious by not telling simply telling me how to that after telling me that I can do it.

Last edited by DoktorMesmer (2015-04-28 17:19:45)

Offline

 

#2 2015-04-28 21:00:47

MadModder
Bomb Jack
Registered: 2012-11-03
Posts: 31

Re: Assigning Potentiometers - how?

Maybe the answer in this old thread helps: http://www.mssiah-forum.com/viewtopic.php?id=32

But I don't know really. The manual for mono synth doesn't look the same for the pot assignment. But I think it SHOULD work in the same way. That would be logical.

Last edited by MadModder (2015-04-28 21:03:30)

Offline

 

#3 2015-04-30 14:02:17

DoktorMesmer
Bloody beginner
From: England
Registered: 2011-04-25
Posts: 6

Re: Assigning Potentiometers - how?

Thanks. That old thread appears to be for the PROPHET64. Anyone else??

Last edited by DoktorMesmer (2015-04-30 14:02:29)

Offline

 

#4 2015-05-09 19:48:54

DoktorMesmer
Bloody beginner
From: England
Registered: 2011-04-25
Posts: 6

Re: Assigning Potentiometers - how?

I got a customer service reply from Robin Eriksson, 8bit ventures which answers the question:

Each parameter for Pot 1-X has an assigned key, that's how you move them around. The keys and parameters are listed in the chapter "Key Map" on page 38 in the Bassline manual.

I've found what he was talking about in the Tone Controls section of the Bassline manual, which reveals that e.g. G selects filter frequency, H selects filter resonance. It sounds great tweaking these parameters with the paddles!

Last edited by DoktorMesmer (2015-05-09 19:49:23)

Offline

 

#5 2015-05-10 11:20:58

MadModder
Bomb Jack
Registered: 2012-11-03
Posts: 31

Re: Assigning Potentiometers - how?

That was not obvious.
The section about editing the sound says there are six knobs on the screen that is accessed with certain keys found in the key map.
It doesn't say anywhere that pressing those keys assigns the POT 1-X.
But at least we know now. big_smile

It would be nice to be able to hook up pots to the second SID chip too if installed, to have 8 pots in total, but sadly that functionality is not going to happen...

And BTW, this section is for the Prophet64 Bassline... wink

Last edited by MadModder (2015-05-10 13:07:47)

Offline

 

#6 2015-05-10 20:45:34

DoktorMesmer
Bloody beginner
From: England
Registered: 2011-04-25
Posts: 6

Re: Assigning Potentiometers - how?

Yes, definitely a failure on the part of the user manual there.

So far I only have one SID in use with MSSIAH, even though I have two C64Cs. I have two pots (one 2-paddle controller) - I guess I'll buy another one for 4 pots.

I don't know how my post went in the Prophet64 section! If any moderator is reading this - please could you move it to the appropriate MSSIAH section?

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008