PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#1 2007-03-17 20:45:46

FriendlyFire
Pac-Man
From: Berlin
Registered: 2006-07-10
Posts: 205
Website

SID2SID Shutt Off Mod

HELLO everybody,
i had lots off problems with my RetroReplay and a installed SID2SID.
So i asked how to solve this problem in the retroreplay forum forum and i got help.
The problem is that SID2 and RetroReplay are using the same registers and RR reads its bank switching register back.
Maybe there're problems with other carts too.....
The Solution is to shut off the 2nd Sid like in the picture. Only cutting the CS-line wont work.
This modification is very easy, you need 3 wires, a 10k resistor and a 2way switch, thats all smile

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/4066/sid2sidoffqt0.th.gif

The mod works very fine for me with my modified (6581+8580) SID2SID.
best wishes,
FF

EDIT: ohoh, i reconized now that i made a very small misstake: the picture says "1x 10 Ohm" but you have to use 10k ohm

Last edited by FriendlyFire (2007-05-07 16:09:26)

Offline

 

#2 2007-03-19 09:09:37

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: SID2SID Shutt Off Mod

Nice hack, thanks a bunch!


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

#3 2009-07-03 03:25:39

Green
Bloody beginner
From: Germany, Marburg
Registered: 2009-02-20
Posts: 6

Re: SID2SID Shutt Off Mod

I do it a bit different, solderd by the designer of the Rotro Replay (and MMC Replay)

CS to 2way-switch one on Pin7 exp.p.  and one to pin2 exp.p. (+5V) without resistor, and it works too.
...until now


Commodore:
6x c64c
2x breadbin
Prophet 64
and 3x Gameboy Clasic mit Nanoloop 1.3

Offline

 

#4 2010-08-04 17:47:54

maraud
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 1

Re: SID2SID Shutt Off Mod

Perfect!  I've been looking for this exact thing!!!  I have it installed and it works great, but dropping pin7 froze the machine.  I'll do this today!  w00t!  Now to get back to work building an external box to hold all of the POTs conenctors etc, with a simple DIN (something size, who knows yet) connector to the C64.  I don't want to muck up my case!

Offline

 

#5 2017-01-24 23:13:18

nusse
GI-Joe
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-09-20
Posts: 19

Re: SID2SID Shutt Off Mod

Hello there!

I picking up this old thread:)

I need the schematics for this switchmod, the link is dead.
It would be great if Friendly fire or someone else can repost it.

I had it printed out but i can`t find it anywhere.

Best regards.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008